Thread: Merc 525's

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    Merc 525's
    here is the problem. first let me say, Im not a mechanic and some of my friends would say after crashing and totaling our cig this year, maybe not even a good driver. ( thats another story )
    Our friends top gun just went into the shop to get it ready for us to bring it down to key west. He got bad news from the shop.
    the shop said, remember the problem you had when the engines were new? well it happened again. Water intrusion into the engine.
    My friend maintains his boat with an open check book and when he needed new power he did not want any issues so he went with new 525s.
    the last go around I believe he needed one new block all new heads and headers.

so here we go again. Total hours on engines 90.

what is the answer and how come merc does not step up and fix the problem

thoughts?

2. Collapse Details

I going to guess it is a staggered setup and the forward engine is the issue. Are the the long heavy tailpipes mounted with a bracket to help support the tailpipes and not crack the headers?

3. Collapse Details

no, this is a 95 topgun standard set up

4. Collapse Details

Quote Originally Posted by 95south View Post
    here is the problem. first let me say, Im not a mechanic and some of my friends would say after crashing and totaling our cig this year, maybe not even a good driver. ( thats another story )
    Our friends top gun just went into the shop to get it ready for us to bring it down to key west. He got bad news from the shop.
    the shop said, remember the problem you had when the engines were new? well it happened again. Water intrusion into the engine.
    My friend maintains his boat with an open check book and when he needed new power he did not want any issues so he went with new 525s.
    the last go around I believe he needed one new block all new heads and headers.

thoughts?